Morocco Oases and Valleys Tour

Morocco Trip

This is a sustainable trekking group tour to Morocco. It is one of our best adventure trips for rough travelers. A Morocco adventure tour that covers the high Atlas Mountains and the Sahara desert. Morocco's Southern and Northern lands differ completely, contrasting climate and landscape. The South seems to embody a step backward in time to an era of the biblical aura of ancient Mesopotamia. The vast Sahara seems surreal, with its plateaus bordered by mirages. Along these valleys and waddies, you will discover sandcastle-like Kasbahs and romantic oases, where tall date palms grow surrounded by silver-green reeds. Dunes on the far horizon are constantly reshaped by gentle winds, sheltered by azure-blue African skies, shaping the backdrop of these lush vistas. Enjoy this small group active tour to explore the best natural aspects of Morocco.


Customized Tours

All our group tours can be customized for private travel.

These breathtaking landscapes have attracted artists, poets, and filmmakers. Even Cecil de Mill and Martin Scorsese could not capture on film the majesty and unsurpassed beauty of Morocco's Southern lands. This small group adventure tour is to sustain local communities in Southern Morocco. Taking this active tour is going beyond the scope of travel. It is to contribute to the welfare of these remote communities in Southeast Morocco. Travel, explore, have fun, and feel good about yourself on this overland Morocco Tour. With more depth and less terrain, Morocco is heaven on earth, which has a depth that can only be truly embraced and appreciated by the naked eye.

We have designed this tour especially for explorers, adventurers, and outback lovers of nature and authenticity. It is an overland trek in the southern Morocco region. This adventure tour starts in Fez and ends in Marrakech, covering a ceremonial back roads itinerary. We depart from Fez, the oldest of all imperial Cities. The heartbeat of Morocco, climbing the Atlas Mountains' evergreen cedar forests to the arid steppes of Eastern Morocco and down to Erg Chebbi's immense ocean of real Sahara Dunes, then to the valley of the Draa exploring the largest palm grove on earth, then back to the trekking the Atlas Mountains highest pass of Tizi n Tichka then down to Marrakech to end this expedition in the best artificial oasis on earth, namely Marrakech. This Morocco adventure tour is for rural enthusiasts, mountain lovers, and typical cultural encounters with most remote people in their daily lives—an active tour in Morocco, unlike the others.

Shoppers will love the Berber souks (daily markets) as all you see, from produce to utensils to crafts, are locally produced. This overland tour will continue, crossing some breathtaking oases and Kasbahs (adobe castles) to the Todra Valley, Morocco's highest and narrowest canyons. Along with your trek riding 4X4 land Rovers through the great south of Morocco, where the scenery changes on every horizon, you will suddenly reach the vastness of the Sahara desert in this expedition. No word can describe this ethereal God made an ocean of emptiness, yet it is fulfilling. Welcome to the ocean of dunes and the land of the camel. Enjoy this trekking expedition in the great south of Morocco with fixed scheduled departures for 2024 and 2025.

DAY TO DAY ITINERARY

Day 1: Fez City tour and Tour Orientation

Upon arriving at the Fez Saiss Airport, your guide will be waiting to take you to your hotel for check-in. Welcome to start one of the most rewarding sustainable expeditions in Morocco. You will devote your day to exploring Fez's many historical sites. Your local guide will give a panoramic tour of Fez El Jadid and The Jewish Quarter, then enter the Medina from its principal gate and walk the medieval streets, with a maze of blind turns and alleys exploring the historical sights of Fez and its souks. Dinner will be in your guesthouse

Day 2: Overland Trip from Fez to the Sahara Desert

You will spend most of your day en route to Tinghir riding with your guide, exploring all aspects of the Atlas Mountains, from the evergreen, copped cedar forest to the arid stark snow-capped mountains, ending your day in the vastness of the Sahara Desert. Get ready for the highlight of this adventure trip for a starry night over the dunes of Erg Chebbi in the heart of the Sahara—an experience you should grab onto. Your tents will be pitched, and a dinner cooked by Bedouin nomads will be served in a hospitable fashion. Enjoy your night under the African skies.

Once you arrive in Erfoud, you leave your vehicle and hop into the 4-Wheel Drive cruiser, which takes you to meet a caravan of camels that you will ride to camp. After dinner, the Rokba drummers will illuminate your night with their lively dances and moving chants. Enjoy this encounter of man and nature at its best.

Day 3: Travel the Valley of Ziz to Tinghir

At the crack of dawn, you will walk up to the highest dunes to discover the break of the day in the ocean of dunes. You will not want to miss the breathtaking sunrise over the spectacular Merzouga dunes in the Sahara. Afterward, you will eat breakfast with the nomad Tuaregs at camp and start your trip across the desert back roads towards Tinghir, exploring the holy city of Rissani and its adobe Medina, the valley of the Draa, and its breathtaking oases.

Your afternoon will consist of a visit to the Todra Gorges, after which you will continue to Erfoud, where you will explore the Ziz Valley. One of the most aesthetically pleasing southern routes, Erfoud is a dry, red belt of the desert with a sudden drop into a valley filled with date palm groves; it is a land lost in antiquity. You will then continue traveling with your small group overland to one of the most delightful southern natural regions of Morocco.

Day 4: Overland the backroads to Zagora

Your 4X4 Wheel Drive Cruisers will take you on this adventure overland across the desert to the magnificent Mountains of Saghro, traveling the back roads by Anif Mountains. We will stop in some green oases and field projects to brief you on sustainable agricultural programs in this dissolute desert. You will then continue to the Draa Valley's endless palm groves that stretch for hundreds of miles. You will reach Zagora and Lodge at the legendary Riad Laman. A festive dinner will be served for you in your desert boutique hotel.

Day 5: Excursion to M'Hamid dunes and oases around

Enjoy a day of eco overland excursion to the endless dunes of M'Hamid and other green oases on the banks of the Draa River. You will spend your day on an excursion that will take you to the real gateway of the Moroccan Saharan Desert. You will drive through the lowlands and along with the mountain passes to Tamegroute, a humble village where deep knowledge is transmitted most simplistically. There you will visit the famous Moorish Koranic Library. Full of rare books and documents, the library includes 13th-century writings made on gazelle hide. Afterward, you will return to Zagora for the night. You will conclude your day with dinner and other accommodations in your hotel.

Day 6: Overland trip to Marrakech

After breakfast, you will start your overland active tour with your small group traveling to Marrakech. You will spend most of your day en route to Marrakesh, exploring Berber villages and oases, the Taddart and Tizi-n-Tishka pass, at an altitude of 11,000 feet. You will arrive in Marrakech, a city of pleasure for visitors and locals, where southern tribespeople and Berber villagers bring their goods to market and find a variety of entertainment. To tourists, the city is a feast for the imagination, full of incomparable beauty, situated before the towering mountains that provide a thrilling backdrop. After a visit to the bustling Souks for last-minute shopping, you will conclude your day with dinner and other accommodations at your hotel.

Day 7: Guided Historic Tour of Marrakech

Meet your local guide after breakfast in your hotel to start your walking cultural tour of Marrakech featuring the gardens of Menara, The Koutoubia mosque, Gates and Ramparts, The Bahia, Palace, and of course, the famous Jamaa el Fna square—a full-day tour of Marrakech to explore the most exotic aspects of Morocco. After a visit to the bustling Souks of Marrakech for last-minute shopping, you will return to your hotel for a festive Moroccan Dinner with your small group to crown this adventure expedition to Morocco.

Day 8: Transfer to Casablanca Airport

Your Morocco active tour comes to an end. You can extend your journey to Morocco on one of our other eco-tours; if not, we will transfer you to the airport to catch your flight from Marrakech or Casablanca.

What is included:

  • Transportation in 4X4 vehicles
  • Hotel taxes and service charges
  • Fees to Monuments and Museums
  • Breakfast, and dinner daily
  • Services of local guides
  • Sahara Experience over the dunes of Merzouga

Hotels Used:

  • Marrakesh: Hotel El Andalous, 2 nights
  • Tinghir: Kasbah Lamrani, 1 night
  • Merzouga: Kasbah Leila, 1 night
  • Zagora: Riad Lamane, 2 nights
  • Fez: Hotel L’Escale, 1 night
DEPARTING FINISHING SEATS TOTAL IN USD
Wed 31 Jul 2024 Wed 7 Aug 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 3 Aug 2024 Sat 10 Aug 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 6 Aug 2024 Tue 13 Aug 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 9 Aug 2024 Fri 16 Aug 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 12 Aug 2024 Mon 19 Aug 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 15 Aug 2024 Thu 22 Aug 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 18 Aug 2024 Sun 25 Aug 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 21 Aug 2024 Wed 28 Aug 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 24 Aug 2024 Sat 31 Aug 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 27 Aug 2024 Tue 3 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 30 Aug 2024 Fri 6 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 2 Sep 2024 Mon 9 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 5 Sep 2024 Thu 12 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 8 Sep 2024 Sun 15 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 11 Sep 2024 Wed 18 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 14 Sep 2024 Sat 21 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 17 Sep 2024 Tue 24 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 20 Sep 2024 Fri 27 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 23 Sep 2024 Mon 30 Sep 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 26 Sep 2024 Thu 3 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 29 Sep 2024 Sun 6 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 2 Oct 2024 Wed 9 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 5 Oct 2024 Sat 12 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 8 Oct 2024 Tue 15 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 11 Oct 2024 Fri 18 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 14 Oct 2024 Mon 21 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 17 Oct 2024 Thu 24 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 20 Oct 2024 Sun 27 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 23 Oct 2024 Wed 30 Oct 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 26 Oct 2024 Sat 2 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 29 Oct 2024 Tue 5 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 1 Nov 2024 Fri 8 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 4 Nov 2024 Mon 11 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 7 Nov 2024 Thu 14 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 10 Nov 2024 Sun 17 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 13 Nov 2024 Wed 20 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 16 Nov 2024 Sat 23 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 19 Nov 2024 Tue 26 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 22 Nov 2024 Fri 29 Nov 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 25 Nov 2024 Mon 2 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 28 Nov 2024 Thu 5 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 1 Dec 2024 Sun 8 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 4 Dec 2024 Wed 11 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 7 Dec 2024 Sat 14 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 10 Dec 2024 Tue 17 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 13 Dec 2024 Fri 20 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 16 Dec 2024 Mon 23 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 19 Dec 2024 Thu 26 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 22 Dec 2024 Sun 29 Dec 2024 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 25 Dec 2024 Wed 1 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 28 Dec 2024 Sat 4 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 31 Dec 2024 Tue 7 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 3 Jan 2025 Fri 10 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 6 Jan 2025 Mon 13 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 9 Jan 2025 Thu 16 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 12 Jan 2025 Sun 19 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 15 Jan 2025 Wed 22 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 18 Jan 2025 Sat 25 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 21 Jan 2025 Tue 28 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 24 Jan 2025 Fri 31 Jan 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 27 Jan 2025 Mon 3 Feb 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 30 Jan 2025 Thu 6 Feb 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 2 Feb 2025 Sun 9 Feb 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 5 Feb 2025 Wed 12 Feb 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 8 Feb 2025 Sat 15 Feb 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 11 Feb 2025 Tue 18 Feb 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 14 Feb 2025 Fri 21 Feb 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 17 Feb 2025 Mon 24 Feb 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 20 Feb 2025 Thu 27 Feb 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 23 Feb 2025 Sun 2 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 26 Feb 2025 Wed 5 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 1 Mar 2025 Sat 8 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 4 Mar 2025 Tue 11 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 7 Mar 2025 Fri 14 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 10 Mar 2025 Mon 17 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 13 Mar 2025 Thu 20 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 16 Mar 2025 Sun 23 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 19 Mar 2025 Wed 26 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 22 Mar 2025 Sat 29 Mar 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 25 Mar 2025 Tue 1 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 28 Mar 2025 Fri 4 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 31 Mar 2025 Mon 7 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 3 Apr 2025 Thu 10 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 6 Apr 2025 Sun 13 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 9 Apr 2025 Wed 16 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 12 Apr 2025 Sat 19 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 15 Apr 2025 Tue 22 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 18 Apr 2025 Fri 25 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 21 Apr 2025 Mon 28 Apr 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 24 Apr 2025 Thu 1 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 27 Apr 2025 Sun 4 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 30 Apr 2025 Wed 7 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 3 May 2025 Sat 10 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 6 May 2025 Tue 13 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 9 May 2025 Fri 16 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 12 May 2025 Mon 19 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 15 May 2025 Thu 22 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 18 May 2025 Sun 25 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 21 May 2025 Wed 28 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 24 May 2025 Sat 31 May 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 27 May 2025 Tue 3 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 30 May 2025 Fri 6 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 2 Jun 2025 Mon 9 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 5 Jun 2025 Thu 12 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 8 Jun 2025 Sun 15 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 11 Jun 2025 Wed 18 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 14 Jun 2025 Sat 21 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 17 Jun 2025 Tue 24 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 20 Jun 2025 Fri 27 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 23 Jun 2025 Mon 30 Jun 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 26 Jun 2025 Thu 3 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 29 Jun 2025 Sun 6 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 2 Jul 2025 Wed 9 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 5 Jul 2025 Sat 12 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 8 Jul 2025 Tue 15 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 11 Jul 2025 Fri 18 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 14 Jul 2025 Mon 21 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 17 Jul 2025 Thu 24 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 20 Jul 2025 Sun 27 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 23 Jul 2025 Wed 30 Jul 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 26 Jul 2025 Sat 2 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 29 Jul 2025 Tue 5 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 1 Aug 2025 Fri 8 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 4 Aug 2025 Mon 11 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 7 Aug 2025 Thu 14 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 10 Aug 2025 Sun 17 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 13 Aug 2025 Wed 20 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 16 Aug 2025 Sat 23 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 19 Aug 2025 Tue 26 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 22 Aug 2025 Fri 29 Aug 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 25 Aug 2025 Mon 1 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 28 Aug 2025 Thu 4 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 31 Aug 2025 Sun 7 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 3 Sep 2025 Wed 10 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 6 Sep 2025 Sat 13 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 9 Sep 2025 Tue 16 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 12 Sep 2025 Fri 19 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 15 Sep 2025 Mon 22 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 18 Sep 2025 Thu 25 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 21 Sep 2025 Sun 28 Sep 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 24 Sep 2025 Wed 1 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 27 Sep 2025 Sat 4 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 30 Sep 2025 Tue 7 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 3 Oct 2025 Fri 10 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 6 Oct 2025 Mon 13 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 9 Oct 2025 Thu 16 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 12 Oct 2025 Sun 19 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 15 Oct 2025 Wed 22 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 18 Oct 2025 Sat 25 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 21 Oct 2025 Tue 28 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 24 Oct 2025 Fri 31 Oct 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 27 Oct 2025 Mon 3 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 30 Oct 2025 Thu 6 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 2 Nov 2025 Sun 9 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 5 Nov 2025 Wed 12 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 8 Nov 2025 Sat 15 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 11 Nov 2025 Tue 18 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 14 Nov 2025 Fri 21 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 17 Nov 2025 Mon 24 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 20 Nov 2025 Thu 27 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 23 Nov 2025 Sun 30 Nov 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 26 Nov 2025 Wed 3 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 29 Nov 2025 Sat 6 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 2 Dec 2025 Tue 9 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 5 Dec 2025 Fri 12 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Mon 8 Dec 2025 Mon 15 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Thu 11 Dec 2025 Thu 18 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sun 14 Dec 2025 Sun 21 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Wed 17 Dec 2025 Wed 24 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Sat 20 Dec 2025 Sat 27 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Tue 23 Dec 2025 Tue 30 Dec 2025 Available $1665 RESERVATION
Fri 26 Dec 2025 Fri 2 Jan 2026 Available $1665 RESERVATION

Cost per person: $1665 USD

Single supplement: $365 USD

MAKING AN INQUIRY

All of our tours can be customized for private travel according to your preferences and dates. Click below to tell us what you're looking for:

Plan my Trip